How To Delete Shared Photos On Messenger?

Sent an image by mistake or not liking the earlier sent photo now? Don’t worry we are here for your rescue. Facebook’s messenger has the feature to delete photos. Facebook Messenger is undoubtedly one of the dominant messaging platforms and hence comprises numerous features for its large number of users’ positive experience. In this article, you will find step-by-step procedures to delete photos on Messenger.

Delete Facebook Messages Both Sides on Messenger

How to Delete Shared Photos on Messenger App?

You can very easily delete photos at any point in time after sending them on the Facebook Messenger app. The basic two options are either you delete only photos by selecting each photo and deleting it or the fast option to just delete the entire conversation.

Then you also have two choices that either you delete a photo just on your end or you want to delete a photo from both the ends i.e. you and the receiver. After you’ve decided what you wish to do then just follow the needful procedure which will be provided in the article further.

1. Delete Shared Photos One-By-One

The most straightforward way to delete photos on the messenger app is to press the picture for long in chat and just delete it. Below are given the procedure to delete the photo sent on the messenger app.

Step 1: Open the Facebook messenger app and then open the conversation from where you want to delete the picture.

Step 2: Then find the picture you wish to get rid of.

Step 3: Then just press the picture and hold it and some options will appear.

Step 4: Click on the remove for your option at the bottom.

2. Delete The Entire Conversation

Now if you are using your phone and you wish to delete the entire conversation with someone you can follow the below-mentioned method.

Step 1: Open the messenger app and scroll down to the conversation you wish to delete.

Step 2: Without opening the conversation, just click on the conversation and hold till a sub-menu comes up.

Step 3: Now select the delete option from the menu and your conversation along with photos will be deleted from the messenger.

How To Delete Photos On Messenger From Your PC?

Similar to the FB Messenger app, there are two methods; either deleting each shared picture one-by-one or throwing the whole conversation into the dumpster yard.

1. Delete Shared Photos One-By-One

In case you are using your PC for messaging and you wish to delete only photos and not the entire conversation then you need to follow this method.

Step 1: Open the Facebook messenger and then go to the specific conversation.

Step 2: Then look for the picture you want to delete.

Step 3: Click on the three vertical dots beside the picture.

Step 4: Then a small pop-up will come up with options to remove or reply.

Step 5: Click on Remove and another pop-up appears from where click removes for you.

2. Delete The Entire Conversation

If the above methods didn’t fit your requirements and you wish to delete the entire conversation on messenger on your PC then you should go through the steps mentioned beneath.

Step 1: Open Facebook Messenger from your PC, or click the following link – http://www.facebook.com/messages/. Else, browse http://www.facebook.com/ and click on the Messenger button from the top-right corner.

Step 2: Scroll down to the conversation you want to delete. Then click on the three dots icon in front of the conversation name.

Step 3: A sub-menu comes up from where select delete. Your entire conversation will be deleted.

Deleting Permanently/Unsend Photos on Messenger

The above four options let you delete photos on messenger but only for you. It means that the pictures will be deleted at your side while the receiver continues to keep viewing them. You can access these photos in ‘View Shared Photos’ on Messenger.

To delete the photos on both ends of the conversation you need to follow the below-mentioned procedures.

1. Through Messenger App

If you want to delete photos from both ends of the conversation and are using messenger on your phone then simply comply with the steps below:

Step 1: Open the Facebook messenger app and then open the conversation.

Step 2: Then scroll up to the photo you want to delete.

Step 3: Press on the photo and hold it and a remove option will appear.

Step 4: Click on remove and then click Unsend. It will permanently delete the photo from both ends.

2. Through Desktop Version

Last but not least if neither of the above options suit your needs then this option will surely help you. These steps are appropriate for you if you want to delete photos for both you and the receiver and you are using messenger on desktop.

Step 1: Open the Facebook messenger and then go to the specific conversation.

Step 2: Look for the picture you want to delete.

Step 3: Click on the three vertical dots and a small pop-up will open with options to remove or reply.

Step 4: Click on the Remove option and from the next pop-up menu select Unsend for everyone and then click remove. This will delete photos on the messenger desktop version permanently on both ends of the conversation.

By following the above-given steps for deleting the photos permanently on the Facebook messenger app you will be able to delete the photos on your side as well as from the end of the receiver.

Now you won’t be able to see the sent photo in the shared pictures section of the messenger. When you delete the photo permanently or unsent the photo on messenger the receiver will receive a message stating “you unsend a message”.

Final Words

This article tells you how to delete the photo on your end or both ends of the conversation on Facebook messenger. So from now on, you don’t need to worry about photos sent by mistake or if you no longer wish the receiver to see the photo and you can simply follow the methods aforementioned and your problem will be solved.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.